News for alumni and friends of Indiana Law


October 2018

Distinguished Service Awards presented

The Law School honored five of its alumni with Distinguished Service Awards Oct. 26 in Bloomington. The honorees have brought honor to their communities and the Indiana University Maurer School of Law in ways far exceeding traditional business, professional, and civic duties, said Dean Austen L. Parrish. This year’s DSA recipients are:

  • Jane Henegar, ’88: Executive director of the ACLU of Indiana
  • Thomas Yunlong Man, ’97: Professor from practice and associate dean, Peking University of Transnational Law (Man's DSA was presented Sept. 22 by an IU delegation to Beijing)
  • Jeanne M. Picht, ’94: Professional development manager, Thompson Hine, LLC
  • Stephen E. Reynolds, ’08: Partner, Litigation Group, Ice Miller
  • Timothy J. Riffle, ’83: Partner, Barnes & Thornburg LLP; adjunct faculty, IU Maurer School of Law

Read more about this year’s Distinguished Service Award honorees in the print edition of Ergo next month.

Indiana Law, Fulbright Hungary Commission sign partnership agreement

On October 12, Lesley Davis, the Law School’s assistant dean for international programs, and Károly Jókay, executive director of the Fulbright Commission in Hungary, signed an agreement to support up to two LLM students at the Law School who are interested in specializing in intellectual property law.

The agreement provides for a significant tuition discount for the Fulbright scholars, along with other in-kind support from the university. The Fulbright Commission has agreed to identify additional funding to support the best-qualified candidates to send to the Law School’s LLM program.

“The Law School’s unique intellectual property LLM program, and Hungary’s need for innovation management, technology transfer and commercialization, are a perfect match for Hungarian Fulbright students,” said Jókay. Fulbright students will apply to the program next year for admission in the 2020-21 academic year.

Janis elected to American Law Institute

The American Law Institute has elected 31 new members, including the Law School's Prof. Mark Janis. The new members will bring their expertise to ALI’s work of clarifying the law through restatements, principles, and model codes. “ALI’s membership is known for its judgment, collective experience, and analytic ability,” said ALI President David F. Levi. “I am pleased to welcome this extraordinary group of new members who will bring their talent, wisdom, and dedication to the important work of the Institute.” Janis is the Robert A. Lucas Chair and director of the Center for Intellectual Property Research.

ALAF nominations open

Nominations are open for the Academy of Law Alumni Fellows, the Law School’s highest honor. Established in 1985, the Academy recognizes alumni who have distinguished themselves in their careers through personal achievements and dedication to the highest standards of the profession. With professional roles ranging from U.S. senators to federal judges to managing partners of national law firms, Academy Fellows bring honor to the legal profession and enhance our school’s reputation. Fellows are chosen by an anonymous committee and honored at a ceremony in Bloomington every spring.

Selection criteria:

  • A nominee must have earned respect as a leader in his or her chosen career as evidenced by public service, such as national or state offices held; by professional leadership positions; by published works; or by other indications of special qualifications and performance.
  • The nominee should be perceived as experienced by his or her peers.
  • The nominee should hold a responsible position in a law firm, business, or institution that has a reputation for high quality.
  • Nominees must agree to be present at the award ceremony in order to receive the award.
  • The nominee must have received a degree from the Law School. Exceptions must be approved by the selection committee and the dean.

Download an ALAF nomination form.

Law School launches scholar-in-residence program

The Law School and its Center for Law, Society & Culture have launched a Scholar-in-Residence program for the fall of 2019 or spring of 2020. The program will host a tenured or pre-tenured faculty member in Bloomington while they're on sabbatical or research leave. The school will provide a stipend and office space to the candidate. Applications are due December 15.

In Brief...

  • The Law School is pleased to introduce The Docket, a one-stop shop for faculty media appearances, events, and news.
  • Dean Austen L. Parrish has posted "Judicial Jurisdiction: The Transnational Difference," forthcoming in the Virginia Journal of International Law. Parrish also participated in The State of Latinos in the Law Symposium in Chicago. 
  • Profs. Ken Dau-Schmidt and Deb Widiss (along with the University of Minnesota Law School's Prof. Laura Cooper, '74) presented at the 13th Colloquium on Scholarship in Employment & Labor Law at the University of South Carolina School of Law.
  • Prof. Leandra Lederman joined an amicus brief of tax professors in support of the government's position in Altera Corp. v. Commissioner (9th Circuit).
  • Prof. Luis Fuentes-Rohwer and Duke Law's Guy-Uriel E. Charles have published "Judicial Intervention as Judicial Restraint," forthcoming in the Harvard Law Review.
  • Prof. Pamela Foohey gave talks on the U.S. Consumer Bankruptcy Project and on the bankruptcy of religious organizations at the University of Alberta Faculty of Law.
  • Last month, Joanetta Fields Van Rijn, '19 was recognized in Austin, TX by American Bar Association Business Law section Chair Christopher J. Rockers after being selected for the 2018 Diversity Clerkship Program.
  • Representatives from Myanmar's Ministry of Education, the National Education Policy Commission, the Burmese American Community Institute visited the Law School and its Center for Constitutional Democracy in early October to discuss higher education and Myanmar.