



Larimore, Raley, Torres, Wang inducted into ALAF

Four of the Law School's most distinguished alumni have joined the ranks of the Academy of Law Alumni Fellows. Dean **Austen L. Parrish** inducted **Mary Nold Larimore**, '80; **Jane Raley**, '82 (posthumously); **Denice M. Torres**, '84; and **Yu-Chi Wang**, LLM'93/SJD'97 on April 13. The honorees include one of Indiana's best attorneys, the former leader of a famed institution dedicated to advocacy on behalf of the falsely accused, a multi-talented attorney and businesswoman who led one of



Larimore, Torres, Parrish, and Wang (from left)

Johnson & Johnson's biggest turnarounds, and a former minister of Taiwan's Mainland Affairs Council. "It truly is an honor to induct four distinguished and accomplished alumni who have left their marks on their communities and the legal profession," Parrish said. "These four alumni have distinguished themselves in their careers through personal achievement and dedication to the highest standards of the profession." Read more about this year's ALAF inductees.

Lederman awarded Fulbright Scholarship

Prof. **Leandra Lederman**, William W. Oliver Professor of Tax Law and director of the Law School's Tax Program, has been awarded a prestigious Fulbright Scholarship. She will spend the 2019 spring semester at Université de Luxembourg, where she'll be hosted by Werner Haslehner, the university's ATOZ Chair for

European and International Tax Law. Lederman is one of the country's most frequently cited tax scholars and has written numerous articles on policy issues in the areas of federal income tax (individual and corporate), tax controversies, and tax administration (including a number of articles on tax compliance and evasion). Her work has included empirical analyses and a law-and-economics approach to tax issues.

Lederman's Fulbright is the second awarded to a law professor in as many years -- Prof. **Deborah Widiss** spent the spring 2018 semester in Australia researching the impacts of paid parental leave legislation.



Alumni gift creates new summer internship program

John Segal, a 1968 graduate of the Kelley School of Business and a 1971 graduate of Indiana Law, has funded a new business law audit program. The program will place selected students in mentored positions inside businesses to provide preventive legal analysis of their operations. "I believe in the power of collaboration between students, faculty, entrepreneurs, and economic development organizations," Segal said, "and my hope is that Maurer can build on the seed funding to expand the program over the coming years." The new program will be overseen by Clinical Professor **Mark Need**, '92, faculty director of the JD/MBA program and director of the Elmore Entrepreneurship Law Clinic.

Ausbrook prevails at SCOTUS; 2Ls assisted with petition

The United States Supreme Court handed adjunct professor **Michael Ausbrook**, '93, and his client a major victory last month when it denied the State of Indiana's petition for certiorari in *Brown v. Brown*. The high court's action left intact the Seventh Circuit's decision following Ausbrook's oral argument last year. In that opinion, authored by Judge David Hamilton, the Seventh Circuit held that Indiana habeas petitioners whose trial ineffective-assistance claims were procedurally defaulted in state court may argue their post-conviction attorneys' ineffectiveness to overcome that default under the U.S. Supreme Court's decisions in *Martinez v. Ryan* and *Trevino v. Thaler*. Ausbrook's client Dentrell Brown was only 13 years old when he was arrested for murder and sentenced to 60 years in prison on an accomplice-liability theory. No physical or eyewitness evidence tied Brown to the crime. Instead, the state's case relied entirely on a jailhouse informant's claim that the teenager had confessed while incarcerated. Ausbrook was assisted in opposing the State's cert. petition by 2L students from the Law School's Federal Habeas Project, along with the Yale Supreme Court Clinic and partner Andrew Pincus of Mayer Brown's Washington D.C. office.

Five honored with Teaching Awards

Five Indiana Law faculty members were presented with prestigious teaching awards in April. **Jeannine Bell**, the Richard S. Melvin Professor of Law; **Pamela Foohey**, associate professor of law; **Michael Mattioli**, associate professor of law; **Shana Wallace**, professor of practice; and **James Hoeksema**, '89, adjunct professor of law, were all honored for their contributions to students both in and out of the classroom. Bell was awarded the Leon

H. Wallace Teaching Award, the highest honor given to a faculty member. Foohey, Mattioli, and Wallace were presented Trustees Teaching Awards while Hoeksema was given the Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award. Students praised each recipient for their innovative teaching techniques and passion. Read more about this year's Teaching Award recipients.

In brief...

- **Sidney**, '53 and Lois **Eskenazi**, and **Stephen Ferguson**, '66, were honored with honorary degrees from Indiana University at its May 5 Commencement ceremony.
- **Zaldwaynaka "Z" Scott**, '83, emeritus member of our Board of Visitors, has been named the 25th president of Chicago State University.
- Prof. **Bill Henderson** authored a column on "My Long History with Law Firm Scorecards" for Legal Evolution.
- Prof. **David Gamage** wrote "Charitable Contributions in Lieu of SALT Deductions" for State Tax Notes.
- Prof. **Gina-Gail Fletcher** served as faculty speaker at the 2018 Commencement ceremony. **Annie Sturges**, '18, and **Claire Gourjon**, LLM'18, served as student speakers, while **Jenna Lawson**, '18, sang the Alma Mater, "Hail to Old IU." Dean Parrish <u>reflected on the class</u> for his Dean's Desk column in *The Indiana Lawyer*.
- Sarah Armstrong (Center for Law, Society & Culture), Chelsey Browning (events coordinator), Alex Lawson (Jerome Hall Law Library), and Lara Gose (Milt & Judi Stewart Center on the Global Legal Profession) were honored with Staff Awards in late April.
- The <u>IP Law Clinic</u> was featured by *The Indiana Lawyer* for its role in helping inventors across the state.
- Dean of Students **Catherine Matthews**, 'o6, has accepted a position with IU's Human Resources office. We wish her the best in her new position. Prof. **Aviva Orenstein** has been named associate dean of students and academic affairs.

Upcoming alumni events

• Indianapolis -- Young Alumni Steering Committee event at the Indianapolis Indians game. Victory Field. June 24.

Visit the <u>events calendar</u> for details as they become available and to RSVP. Contact <u>lawalum@indiana.edu</u> for further information.