News for alumni and friends of Indiana Law


February 2019

Law School, Indiana Supreme Court launch rural justice initiative

The Law School and the Indiana Supreme Court have announced a pilot program in which up to five first-year students committed to public service will work with judges throughout the state.

The goal of the judicial clerkship program is to expose students to different facets of rural and smaller-city practice while letting them assist trial court judges with research, drafting motions and opinions, and learning about courtroom practice and procedure. The law school has arranged for students to receive a $4,000 stipend to cover travel and living costs during their participation in the program.

Indiana Chief Justice Loretta H. Rush, '83, and Judge Edward W. Najam Jr. of the Indiana Court of Appeals developed the idea for the program. Both serve on the school's Board of Visitors.

"The judiciary is committed to ensuring justice for all people, regardless of where they live in our state," Rush said. "Introducing students to the challenges and opportunities of practicing law in a smaller community is beneficial to the aspiring lawyers and our judges." Read more about the innovative program.

2019 Academy of Law Alumni Fellows

The Law School is proud to announce its 2019 class of Academy of Law Alumni Fellows. This year's inductees are:

  • Jorge Cleofas Bocobo, 1907 (posthumously)
  • Philip C. Genetos, '77
  • Zaldwaynaka L. "Z" Scott, '83
  • John D. Walda, '75

Inductees will be honored during a ceremony on April 12 in Bloomington. Read more about this year's ALAF class later this spring.

IU delegation to Thailand will include Parrish, Buxbaum

Dean Austen L. Parrish and Vice President for International Affairs and John E. Schiller Chair in Legal Ethics Hannah Buxbaum will join an Indiana University delegation to Thailand later this month, as officials from Bloomington commemorate 70 years of strong ties to the country and its institutions across the region. Parrish will visit with some of the Law School's more than 200 alumni in the region and convene a meeting of the Dean's Global Advisory Board on March 2. While there, board member Peter Boonjarern will assume leadership of the university's newest gateway in Bangkok. 

Law Library seeking materials

Do you have a treasure for the Jerome Hall Law Library’s archives? We are actively seeking Law School papers, photographs, publications, audiovisual materials, and memorabilia that will enhance our holdings. Late 1960s and early 70s class reunions are fast approaching and we would love to share some of your class memories via group photographs, commencement programs, student organization documents, etc. If you do not want to part with the material, send us a digital copy (800 DPI) or send the original to us and we will digitize it and return the original to you. Submissions can be sent to:

Katy Bull
Archive and Digital Preservation Specialist
Jerome Hall Law Library
Indiana University Maurer School of Law
211 S. Indiana Ave.
Bloomington, IN 47405

Upcoming events

  • Salt Lake City alumni reception. February 20. Gracie's Bar. 5:30 p.m.
  • Denver alumni reception. February 21. The Intrepid Sojourner Beer Project. 5:30 p.m.
  • Bloomington: My Friend Mickey: Common Decency and the American Dream screening. February 25. Moving Images Screening Room, Herman B Wells Library. 3 p.m.
  • Washington, DC alumni reception. March 12. Penn Quarter Sports Tavern. 5:30 p.m.

In Brief...

  • IU Bloomington Provost and IU Executive Vice President Lauren K. Robel, '83, was featured in the Chronicle of Higher Education 
  • Duke Law Journal has published Prof. Gina-Gail Fletcher's latest piece, "Legitimate Yet Manipulative: The Conundrum of Open-Market Manipulation"
  • Learn how Prof. Victor D. Quintanilla is using LSSSE data to determine how students’ sense of belonging influences their law school satisfaction and grades
  • A team of researchers, including Prof. Pamela Foohey, has released a new study on medical bankruptcies
  • Jeff Richardson, '77, was honored with the LGBTQ+ Alumni Association 2019 Distinguished Alumni Award
  • The Hon. Edward W. Najam, Jr. Scholarship has been awarded to Carolyn Haney and Alexis Daniel. Thank you to Judge Najam for his support of our students!
  • Prof. Dawn Johnsen has been quoted in a number of articles about the constitutionality of Elizabeth Warren’s wealth tax proposal. Her work with Walter Dellinger -- the pair authored an Indiana Law Journal article -- has been described as the "leading work" on the issue
  • Prof. Charlie Geyh presented "Judicial Ethics: A New Paradigm for a New Era" at the St. Mary's University School of Law Ethics Symposium
  • Profs. Norm Hedges and Mark Janis have published a field guide for training post-millennial IP attorneys
  • Pamela Jones Harbour, '84, is being recognized with an American Bar Association Spirit of Excellence Award in January
  • Florida Governor Ron DeSantis recommended Jamal Sowell, '17, to serve as the next president and CEO of Enterprise Florida, Inc. in December. Sowell was confirmed to the post last month.
  • Taylor Fontan was named champion, and Hannah Miller, Michael Smyth, and Carolyn Haney finalists of the Maurer Internal Trial Competition
  • 3Ls Sarah Eddy and Nick Palmieri recently advanced to the oral argument rounds of the University of Oxford International IP Moot Competition. They are the only American team to advance this year and the first team from Indiana Law to advance since 2013
  • The Conservation Law Center is seeking a graduate fellow this fall