Academic calendar

2019-2020 Academic Year
Fall 2019
Orientation New LLM, MCL, SJD, PhD and Exchange Students: Monday, August 12 – Wednesday, August 14 required orientation sessions; optional orientation activities August 15, 16 and 19

New JD Students: Thursday-Friday, August 15-16 and Monday, August 19
Drop/Add Thursday, August 15 through Monday, August 26
Classes Start Tuesday, August 20
(Monday class schedule to replace Tuesday class schedule due to the Labor Day holiday)
Labor Day Monday, September 2
(classes do not meet)
Fall Break Monday, October 14 through Friday, October 18
Classes Resume Monday, October 21
Classes End Tuesday, November 26
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 27 through Friday, November 29
(classes do not meet)
Reading Days Monday, December 2 - Wednesday, December 4
Exams Start Thursday, December 5
Exams End Friday, December 20
Spring 2020
Wintersession Tuesday, January 7 through Friday, January 10
Drop/Add Monday, January 13 through Tuesday, January 21
Classes Start Wednesday, January 15
(Monday class schedule to replace Wednesday schedule due to MLK holiday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 20
(classes do not meet)
Spring Break Monday, March 16 through Friday, March 20
Classes Resume Monday, March 23
Classes End Wednesday, April 22
Reading Days Thursday, April 23 and Friday, April 24
Exams Start Monday, April 27
Exams End Friday, May 8
Law School Commencement Saturday, May 9
2020-2021 Academic Year
Fall, 2020
Orientation New LLM, MCL, SJD, PhD Students: Mandatory orientation sessions Monday, August 10-Wednesday, August 12; Optional activities Thursday, August 13, and Friday, August 14

New JD Students: Mandatory orientation sessions Wednesday, August 12- Friday, August 14.
Drop/Add Thursday, August 13 through Monday, August 24
Classes Start Tuesday, August 18
(Monday class schedule to replace Tuesday class schedule due to the Labor Day holiday)
Labor Day Monday, September 7
(Classes do not meet)
Fall Break Monday, October 12 through Friday, October 16
Classes Resume Monday, October 19
Classes End Tuesday, November 24
Thanksgiving Recess Wednesday, November 25 through Friday, November 27
(Classes do not meet)
Reading Days Monday, November 30 through Wednesday, December 2
Exams Start Thursday, December 3
Exams End Friday, December 18
Spring, 2021
Wintersession Tuesday, January 5 through Friday, January 8
Drop/Add Monday, January 11 through Tuesday, January 19
Classes Start Wednesday, January 13
(Monday class schedule to replace Wednesday class schedule due to the MLK Day holiday)
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 18
(Classes do not meet)
Spring Break Monday, March 15 through Friday, March 19
Classes Resume Monday, March 22
Classes End Wednesday, April 21
Reading Days Thursday and Friday, April 22 and April 23
Exams Start Monday, April 26
Exams End Friday, May 7
Commencement Saturday, May 8